Curriculum and Educational Programme

The Characteristics of Effective Learning and the prime and specific areas of Learning and Development are all interconnected.

The Unique Child reaches out to relate to people and things through the Characteristics of Effective Learning, which move through all areas of learning. The ways in which the child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning, and creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

The Prime areas are fundamental, work together and move through to support development in all other areas.  They begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences and run through and support learning in all other areas. The prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society. They grow out of the prime areas and provide important contexts for learning.

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities – next steps.

Each child is assigned a Key Person who will observe and assess your child.  Each week the Key Person will add photos and observations to the journals for you to look through.  It is also a lovely opportunity for you to share the observations with your child, as conversations about Pre-school will naturally begin as they view themselves and what they have enjoyed.